GLASS CAT


When I was a boy
while wandering about your shop
I found a green glass cat
that I found I loved.


I would sneak into your shop
many times
to stare at the beautiful glass cat
and wonder what secrets it stored.


I never had much money
so never bought the creature
or even knew its price.
Not even when I came
to free it from its prison.


One day, I fingered my cold small friend
and I pocketed it
and ran the store
not returning for years to come.
I ran for miles
- or what felt like it -
and took out my prize
only to find it broken.
Cracked.
Damaged.


I could not enter your store again
until years later
when I meant to make restitution
for my crime
only to discover
the glass cat sitting where it always did
exactly as if I had done nothing
to it.


Had I imagined my theft?
Did I simply fantasize my illegal actions?
It was still later when I realized
you had scores of the things
in your back offices
purchased decades before.


I never made restitution
for what I did.
But now,
I'd like to buy a gross, please.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com