YOUR CAT


No, I don't believe that I care.

I don't care if you can't afford it.

I don't care you've become allergic.

I don't care if your boyfriend thinks she hates him

(though probably she does).

I don't care if it's the wisest

kindest bravest solution

to the problem at hand.

I will not take in your cat.


I know she loves me most of all

(maybe more than you)

and I know she's great with the mice in my place

and I know you know I know how to take care

of your little Muffin

that I'd be responsible

and respectful

and rightfully the most righteous person

to help you out in this bind

but I prefer not to.

I will not offer you aid.

I will not take in your cat.


Is it because I am cruel?

Is it because I have gotten bitter

since things went sour

for you and me?

Is it because I want you to realize

that it will not be so easy

to exorcise me from your life in all traditions

that on certain days in small ways

I shall stay?

Is this just because I am spiteful and vengeful and mean?

It is all these things

and, to be blunt, one more:

Much as I love your muffin

she is simply not the pussy of yours

that I want in my life.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com