ROAD TRIP


As we drove, we played the radio

so that there was much less to say

(after so many hours on the road

it just seemed easier that way).


We started with some classical

which began to soothe my nerves

until she changed the station

and then we heard the Verve.


�Could we go back to something mild?�

I asked behind the wheel

�It seems that as the driver

we should listen to what I feel.�


She looked at me and shrugged

and gave up all control

and I put my hand upon the dial

to turn off rock and roll.


�What�s your problem?� she asked me

�Why are you such a bear?

We used to like the same music;

you�ve grown so old, I swear.


You used to concentrate

upon the lyrics of the Boss.

The Sex Pistols would keep us up

(we ignored the hearing loss).


Why have you forsaken that joy?

Why now, only this pap?

What has happened to your soul

to fill it with such sap?�


�This music that we�re hearing

is for refined, and adult tastes.

We�ve grown older, and should reflect

our age, not youthful waste.


I�d listen to that crap of yours

if it still felt quite right.

But these days,� I said,

�Those awful sounds just keep me up at night.�


She shrugged again, we sat alone

within the car in quiet.

Listening to the dulcet tones

of our silent riot.


We�d both grown up, we realized

though much in different ways.

And the radio had shown us

how we should end our days.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com