STRIKE


I choose not to sleep

and may well not sleep again.

This is my boycott.

This is my strike.


I have the control

to keep myself awake

as I have the control

to avoid the thoughts

I must

in the daytime

when the shadows

do no resemble you

when the vapors

do not softly sing your name

when the pillows

do not suddenly take your shape

only to return

without fail

to their natural form.


I will keep myself above these transfigurations

purify myself from your subtle influence.

I will not longer thing of you

in the only place I presently do.

There will be no more dreams

or nightmares, if you will,

to harass my head

or molest my mind

anymore.


No more sleep

means no more you

and if that is what must be

that is what I'll do.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com