PRODIGY SYNDROME


Was it so long ago

that I was the apple of my mother's eye

The sun dappling my living room auditorium

the brain surgeon of dollies?

Have I been too long divorced

from my great young accomplishments

to no longer even recall

the hero I was destined to be?


What happened?

How did I lose my edge?

When did the wind no longer flow to my back?

How did I leave the path of greatness

and arrive on this rickety road?


I was the future.

I was the god's favorite.

I was something greater than all this

I was meant for more than you

and you. And you!


It's gone now

but once

I knew

I touched something spectacular

and it was mine

to have and hold

and lose.

And I did.


Once, I had a future

but that's all in the past.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com