THE MONKEY'S PAW


He sulks

sullen, staring relentlessly

at me

and my trophy.


It was perhaps insensitive

I see in retrospect

to bring this prize into my house

but after prying it from

that drunken lout

I was so proud

so pleased with my strength

and conquest

that I had to bring it home.


And it is withered

and it is vile

and it smells a little

of rot and rotgut and perhaps some Ragu sauce

and, of course, of the original owner

but my Monkey's Claw is a goodie from my journey

and I'd be loathe to lose it.


And so what if Pierre hates it

and hates me for owning it?

I am not put on this earth to please him.

I will not back down on this

for this is my home

and my Monkey's Claw

and no idiotic ape

will tell me what to do here.

So what if he lives with me?

I swear, if he makes me choose

I may just have to send Pierre back to the zoo.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com