IRON


It's getting harder to hate you.

God knows, I try

but I'm finding it more difficult

to find fuel for this fire.


There's an old chestnut I'd like to burn

how absence makes the heart grow fonder

but its converse is true, too.

The longer you're away

the harder it is to say 'I hate you.'


I wish it weren't so.

I wish I could maintain the purity

of this small cold thing within

that allows me mobility

strength and resolve

in these troubled times.

Without my hate

what would I become?


I need you

as I ever did

but in a more important way.

Memories of you are all

that keep me the man I am.

And yet,

day after day

the longer you're away

the harder it is

to hate you.

And no amount of exercises

or projections

or therapy

seem to change this.


I guess I just have to see you again

if only to stoke these flames

presently so endangered.

I'm sure it will not take me long

to recall

my true feelings for you.

2005 - 2004 - Late 2003 - Early 2003 - Late 2002 - Early 2002 - 2001

hosted by DiaryLand.com